Rutgers University--Camden

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, embodies the historical development of higher education in the United States. From its colonial inception as Queens College in 1766, the institution grew to become Rutgers College in 1825. In 1864 it was designated the states land-grant institution. Assuming university status in 1924, it was further transformed by legislative acts in 1945, and in 1956 the institution became Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. 1989 marked another historic milestone when the university became a member of the Association of American Universities (AAU), connoting its position as one of the major public comprehensive research universities in the U.S., and the only one of its kind in New Jersey. Rutgers evolution is not yet complete. On July 1, 2013, the New Jersey Medical and Health Sciences Education Restructuring Act went into effect, integrating Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, with most units of the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey (UMDNJ). The integration of the legacy elements of UMDNJ into Rutgers has created a fourth unit, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences (RBHS), which consists of a number of schools and units located on various sites but closely aligned with the campus in New Brunswick. Undergraduate students in New Brunswick enroll in the School of Arts and Sciences, the liberal arts college, and/or in one of the professional schools: School of Environmental and Biological Sciences (formerly Cook College); Mason Gross School of the Arts; Rutgers Business School: Undergraduate-New Brunswick; School of Communication and Information; School of Engineering; Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy; School of Management and Labor Relations; Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy; College of Nursing; School of Nursing; School of Health Related Professions. Each school within the New Brunswick campus has individual requirements, policies, and fees.Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey/Newark Campus, founded in 1908, is comprised of 5 undergraduate, degree-granting schools: Newark College of Arts and Sciences; University College-Newark; Rutgers Business School: Undergraduate-Newark; School of Criminal Justice; and School of Public Affairs and Administration. Each school has individual requirements, policies, and fees.Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey/Camden Campus, founded in 1927, is comprised of 4 undergraduate, degree-granting schools: College of the Arts and Sciences, University College--Camden, the School of Nursing-Camden and the School of Business--Camden. Each school has individual requirements, policies, and fees.

Academic Grad Slug

School Details

school_type year_founded religious_affiliation academic_calendar year_2016_endowment address telephone
Public, Coed 1927 N/A Semester $30.2 million + 406 Penn Street, Camden, NJ 08102 (856) 225-1766
overall score total score state city online paying global
67 100.0 New Jersey Camden 217 220

Info & Regulations

title value
Campus size (acres) N/A
Students who have cars on campus N/A
Alcohol permitted on campus for students of legal age N/A

Health & Safety


Computer Resources

Computers available for student use in

residence halls
computer center/labs
student center

Library & Museum Information

title value
On-campus library Yes
Museums or special academic buildings on campus Stedman Art Gallery; Rutgers-Camden Center for the Arts; Gordon Theater;

Learning Disabled (LD) Students

Services for LD students

Remedial math
Remedial English
Reading machines
Remedial reading
Note-taking services
Special bookstore section
Learning center
Extended time for tests
Priority seating
Texts on tape
Exams on tape or computer
Other testing accommodations

Physically Disabled Students

title value
Accessibility of campus to physically disabled students N/A